Hope in a Hotter Time

Explorations in sustainability & justice

Braiding Sweetgrass Reflection #3

Leave a comment


As impactful I have found these last few passages of the book to be, I must say I am unsure what I have to say about them. Much of the discussion of the Windigo has reflected my own feelings about Capitalist mindsets and consumerist attitudes, but I have little to say beyond agreeing with them. Over and over I have tried to write this reflection and make some sort of connection beyond “I liked it, and I agree with Kimmerer” but I have had difficulty getting beyond that.

Instead, I have decided to write about just how engaging and important this whole book has been to me in this last few weeks. I truly do not believe I would have been able to submit any of these reflections if I had not enjoyed and so thoroughly needed to read what Kimmerer has written here. The “climax”, if we can call it that, of the book, “Defeating Windigo”, is so incredibly cathartic after having read page after page of Kimmerer establishing her collection of indigenous values and perspectives. It is truly inspiring, even if only in narrative form, to see the ideals of colonialism and capitalism drowned out by ones of compassion, of responsibility, and of a desire for a world worth living in. I cried when I first read it. I needed this book and I am glad I have had a second chance to explore it.

Leave a comment